IGCSE History


Introduction to IGSE History

At Dhahran British Grammar School the IGCSE course is undertaken in Years 10 and 11.

There are two examinations at the end of Year 11.

Foundation Tier candidates (grades C-G) take paper one, which carries a weighting of 75% and lasts one and a half hours.

Highter Tier candidates (grades A*-G) take paper two, which carries a weighting of 75% and lasts two and a half hours.

Both Foundation and Higher Tier candidates take paper 3, a factual recall paper which has a weighting of 25% and lasts one hour.

Podcast directory

There are a number of enhanced podcasts available to help you study for this subject. Check them out here. Podcast directory


Students for examination in 2007 & 2008 will study the following units.

Other options are possible, including:

A14: Revolution in China, 1949 - 1996 (Year 10)

B10: China under Mao Zedong, 1949 - 1959 (Year 10)